The competition rotates between instrumentalists, singers, keyboard players and composers over a four-year cycle. It is open to those who have already completed a degree or equivalent diploma in music, or who are in their final year of such musical studies. The two annual scholarships are worth R170 000 each, with a number of additional cash prizes awarded to the runners-up and other finalists that display exceptional promise.

The 2014 finalists are Kingsley Buitendag (29) and Prince Bulo (27) in the Jazz Music genre and Amy Crankshaw (22) and Antoni Schonken (26) in the Western Art Music category.

“What is noteworthy about this year’s scholarship finalists is that these four remarkable music graduates are no strangers to our extended SAMRO family,” remarks André le Roux, managing director of the SAMRO Foundation. “Amy was a beneficiary of our pilot orchestral mentorship programme last year, under the tutelage of Professor Peter Klatzow, himself a former SAMRO scholarship winner in 1965. Both Amy and Antoni have previously received SAMRO bursaries to fund their university music studies, two among the 1 700 granted since 1980.”

Candidates for this year’s composers’ round each had to submit three original compositions in their chosen genre.  Each winner will receive a R170 000 scholarship to further his or her studies or attend master classes overseas, while the runners-up will be awarded R40 000 apiece. The merit award winners, Arthur Feder (26) and Paul Morrissey (28) in the Western Art and Jazz Music genres respectively, will each receive R10 000.  

A spectacular concert evening is to take place at the Wits University Great Hall on Saturday, 30 August 2014 during which a selection of South Africa’s premier professional jazz and classical musicians will perform. 

The SAMRO Foundation is the social investment and music education arm of SAMRO and it has, since 1962, awarded over 60 scholarships to help boost the careers of many young musicians and composers. 

Among some of the Foundation’s previous overseas scholarship programme beneficiaries are artists such as Peter Klatzow, Robert Fokkens, Abel Moeng, Nicholas Nicolaidis, Abigail Petersen, Ben Schoeman, Kimmy Skota, Michael Bester and Andre Petersen. 

Visit or follow @SAMROFoundation on Twitter or Facebook for more information. Entrance to the Concert Evening at the Wits Great Hall on 30 August 2014 is free, but is by invitation only and seating is limited. To reserve your seat, please call Naseema at (011) 712 8417 or email

Newsletter Edition: 
Beat Bulletin August 2014
Sub title: 

Four gifted finalists have been selected for this year’s SAMRO Overseas Scholarships Competition for composers.